The True meaning of Christmas is ???

With only 2 weeks until Christmas everyone is getting excited, wherever we go there are Christmas songs playing, some of the most amazing decorations up in towns and cities and most important of all the great food and drink that we associate with Christmas.  I’m a big kid at heart, I love Christmas, I love spending time with my family, the presents, the great food and drink and seeing everyone happy. Over the last few Christmas though a lot of things have changed.  Events that have occurred in my own family and close friends have made my last two Christmases very different from the previous 17. I still find it hard to talk about these events even today so excuse me for not going into them. The best ways to describe these events are as shocks to my world. These shocks which have occurred have made me reconsider Christmas and what the holiday mean to me.

When I was growing up Christmas was the best time of the year. I was selfish I loved the presents that Santa got me; I wasn’t too bothered about the family side. All I wanted was loads of presents. Of course as I got older I changed, family became more important to me and the presents less so. That is my story though and I personally feel the message of Christmas is being lost in all the presents and the shining lights.  We seem to forget that Christmas for many people is a fight to survive because they can’t afford housing or they lost their job and they can’t afford the presents. For these people Christmas is just another day of survival, can I get enough food to eat, can I stay warm enough so I don’t freeze to death. We wouldn’t like this to happen to us would we, we would like help wouldn’t we if we were in this situation. Please if you are reading this go and do something positive to help these people. The smallest thing can make a difference pop to a charity shop and buy something, donate a blanket. Even give up some of your time to volunteer so everyone can enjoy Christmas and the holidays. These little things could save lives. You get back by doing these little things is satisfaction in thinking you have helped someone less fortunate than yourselves.

This is not the only point I wish to make.  The meaning of Christmas for every person is different. The meaning of Christmas for me personally is sharing happiness to as many people as I can,  I do this through giving gifts or just spending time with people.  In today’s society not just in the United Kingdom but the wider world as a whole there is a growing problem. No one is ever satisfied with what they have. We all want more and more. Around Christmas time this comes more apparent. Wherever it is the latest Apple product or the latest games console we demand it. However, I’m going to ask the question what is wrong with the products you already have. I already have a games console why would I need a new one. I don’t and that is the point. Just think about it for a few seconds when you’re buying products. Does this person need this new phone or new technology? Money or products can’t buy you happiness, we live in a materialistic society were supposedly the more possessions we have the happier we are.  This is for me is a myth. There are a certain number of things you need to survive such as food and water. However do you need the latest phone to survive?  I read stories of people complaining because they don’t have the latest gadgets and I think why are your moaning. You have more possessions than 99% of the world.

There is a lot to think about here. I will put my hand on my heart and say I have demanded more than I needed.  There are a lot of us in this world over 7 billion of us and there are only limited resources. When going to the shops to buy the latest gadget remember those people who have very little in the world. These people would give nearly anything to have half of what you owe. Remember those people in your country which aren’t as lucky as yourself and remember those people who live in poverty throughout the world.  REMEMBER

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment